What is the Purpose of a Crash Report (CR-2)?
Accidents happen all the time on Texas roads due to distracted driving, driving under the influence, speeding, disregarding traffic rules, etc. If you get involved in an accident, one of the many pieces of paper you may have to deal with could be the Driver’s Crash Report or CR-2.
The CR-2 is used when the crash results in damages worth over $1,000, severe bodily injury, or death, and no official police report (CR-3) was filed. The report explains the accident in detail to the Texas Department of Transportation. Before you file a Crash Report, consult a skilled personal injury attorney in San Antonio to learn how it may affect the case.
Why Would There Be No Police Report After an Accident?
Ideally, police officers are expected to show up at an accident scene and fully document it. They should capture details that clearly show how the at-fault party caused damages to the victims and property. However, police officers may not always make it to the scene, given they have other obligations that require their time and attention.
In some other cases, they may decline to complete a crash report for what they consider a minor crash. What appears to be a minor crash may result in severe injuries that significantly affect your ability to earn a living, perform daily tasks, and enjoy life. If the police don’t file a CR-3 report, you’ll need to file a CR-2 report. A San Antonio auto accident lawyer can guide you.
Do I Have to Report an Accident to the Police?
According to Texas laws, you must report a car accident to the police under the following circumstances:
- There was property damage worth more than $1,000
- The accident results in serious bodily injuries
- A victim in the accident lost their life
Failure to report a car accident could come with severe consequences. You risk imprisonment and a fine of up to $5,000. Given the hefty penalties, the best practice is to call the police or fill out the Crash Report even if the accident only resulted in minor injuries.
If the crash leads to severe injuries or fatalities, ensure you call 911 for immediate help. Even without any of the victims being in danger of immediate physical harm, the police can help move the vehicles and secure the accident scene for investigation.
Filling Out the Texas Blue Form
You are responsible for completing a driver’s crash report if involved in a crash. However, others can fill out the form if you cannot complete the report. They also must explain why you were unable to complete the form.
The form you fill out will depend on where the accident happened. Under Senate Bill, the Texas Department of Transportation no longer retains the CR-2 forms. The form is currently updated, and accidents that have occurred since September 1, 2017, are documented on the newer CR-2 form.
Completing the form requires that you get the following details on record:
- Date of the crash and time, if known
- Where the crash happened
- The cars and people involved in the crash
- The cars damages and any visible damage
- Injuries the accident victims sustained
- A narrative of the events leading to the accident (your statement)
- Your signature to attest the information is correct
One risk of filling out the CR-2 form is that it can ruin your case if you need to pursue compensation for your injuries. Insurance adjusters from the other insurance company may find loopholes in your statement and use them against you.
While providing accurate details is crucial, revealing more than necessary may work against you. Before completing a CR-2 form, consult an experienced auto accident attorney in San Antonio. They can investigate the crash and advise you on how to file a crash report.
Must I Report the Accident to My Insurance Company?
You also must report the accident to your insurance company even if you were not at fault for the accident. File the report as soon as possible after the crash, as failure to do so may cause your insurance company to cancel your policy once it finds out about the accident. You may also be subjected to higher premiums.
If the other driver didn’t have proper insurance and you have underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage, tell your insurer immediately to receive this coverage. Your policy may also offer specific coverage, for example, the cost of renting a car due to extensive damage to your vehicle in the crash.
How Much Time Do I Have to File a Crash Report?
Your case might become more complicated or compromised if you delay filing a crash report after the accident. A crash report submitted promptly carries greater credibility than one filed ten or more days later. Ensure a skilled San Antonio personal injury lawyer reviews the form before you hand it to the department to ensure your rights and interests are protected.
A Skilled Auto Accident Attorney Guiding You in Filing a Crash Report
You must complete a crash report if you were involved in an accident. Failure to do so can cause trouble with the authorities and your insurance company. However, before filing the report with the Texas Department of Transportation, consult an auto accident lawyer in San Antonio to help protect your rights and not jeopardize your potential settlement.
The Law Office of Matthew S. Norris can discuss everything you need to know about the Crash Report CR-2. We aim to ensure your rights are protected, and you’re treated fairly and respectfully by the system. Call us at (210) 361-3393 to schedule a FREE case evaluation.